Academic Honors

Academic honors will be awarded to students who have earned their degrees and have attained commendable cumulative grade point averages at the CIA. Those students anticipated to receive honors are recognized in the graduation ceremony program. Notations will be made on the diploma once all grades and cumulative GPAs have been verified.

Bachelor's Degrees

Summa Cum Laude (with highest honor): 3.80 or higher GPA

Magna Cum Laude (with high honor): 3.60 to 3.79 GPA

Cum Laude (with honor): 3.40 to 3.59 GPA

Associate Degrees

High Honors: 3.75 or higher GPA

Honors: 3.50 to 3.74 GPA

Perfect Attendance

Students who have a perfect attendance record at the completion of their program (associate or associate/ bachelor's) will receive a certificate of merit along with a notation on their diploma.

New York

The following is not a comprehensive list of all state and municipal statutes and penalties. This is an overview summary of some statutes and attendant penalties for violation of such statutes. Statutes may also have enhanced penalties for subsequent offenses. The penalties described below are based on applicable New York State statutes and are subject to change at any time by the legislature and the governor.

Alcohol:

  • Anyone engaged in the illegal manufacture or sale of alcoholic beverages, without obtaining the necessary and proper permits from federal alcohol authorities, is subject to fines of up to $1,000.
  • Anyone who acquires alcoholic beverages for someone under 21 years old is subject to a fine and imprisonment.
  • Anyone under 21 years old who purchases or attempts to purchase alcoholic beverages through fraudulent means is subject to a fine, community service, and/or loss of driver's license.
  • Anyone under 21 who possesses any alcoholic beverage with the intent to consume such beverage is subject to a fine.

Controlled Substances:

  • Articles 220 and 221 of the New York State Penal Law are directly aimed at unlawful traffic in mind-affecting drugs. These articles set criminal penalties for possession or sale of drugs considered harmful or subject to abuse. The seriousness of the offense and penalty imposed upon conviction depend upon the individual drug or amount held or sold.
  • Section 220.45 makes criminal possession of a hypodermic instrument a Class A misdemeanor.
  • Section 220.46 makes criminal injection of another person with a narcotic drug with consent of that person a Class E felony.
  • Section 220.50 makes possession or sale of drug paraphernalia, the use of substances that dilute drugs (like dextrose or mannite), and the use of commercial drug preparation materials (such as gelatin capsules or plastic envelopes) or scales/balances used for drug weighing a Class A misdemeanor.
  • Section 220.60 makes criminal possession of certain "precursors" of controlled substances used in their preparation and manufacture (such as ergot or diethyl amide), without possession of the drugs themselves, a Class E felony.
  • Under the Penal Law, a gift of drugs, including marijuana, is treated as a sale.

New York State Penal Law defines a misdemeanor as a crime punishable by imprisonment
for more than 15 days but not more than one year. A felony is a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year.

Section 220 Controlled Substance Offenses and Sentences:

Criminal Possession of a Controlled Substance:

  • 7th degree: Class A misdemeanor (up to one year in prison)

Criminal Possession or Sale of a Controlled Substance:

  • 5th degree: Class D felony (up to seven years)
  • 4th degree: Class C felony (up to 15 years)
  • 3rd degree: Class B felony (up to 25 years)
  • 2nd degree: Class A II felony (minimum/maximum set by court)
  • 1st degree: Class A I felony (minimum/maximum set by court)

The degree of possession or sale depends on the amount of the controlled substance provided. All sentences are for first-time offenders.

Texas

The following is not a comprehensive list of all state and municipal statutes and penalties. This is an overview summary of some statutes and attendant penalties for violation of such statutes. Statutes may also have enhanced penalties for subsequent offenses. The penalties described below are based on applicable Texas statutes and are subject to change at any time by the legislature and the governor.

Alcohol:

  • Driving While Intoxicated (includes intoxication from alcohol, drugs, or both). The minimum penalty is confinement in jail for a term of not more than 180 days nor less than 72 hours, and a fine of not more than $2,000. The maximum penalty is imprisonment for a term of not more than 10 years nor less than two years, and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
  • Public Intoxication. The minimum penalty is a fine not to exceed $500. The maximum penalty varies with age and number of offenses.
  • Purchase of Alcohol by a Minor. The minimum penalty is a fine not to exceed $500. The maximum penalty varies with age and number of offenses.
  • Consumption or Possession of Alcohol by a Minor. The minimum penalty is a fine not to exceed $500. The maximum penalty varies with number of offenses.
  • Purchasing for or Furnishing of Alcohol to a Minor. The minimum penalty is a fine not to exceed $4,000 or confinement in jail for a term not to exceed one year, or both. The maximum penalty is a fine not to exceed $4,000 or confinement in jail for a term not to exceed one year, or both.

Controlled Substances:

  • Manufacture of Delivery of Controlled Substances (Drugs). The minimum penalty is confinement in jail for a term of not more than two years or less than 180 days, and a fine not to exceed $10,000. The maximum penalty is confinement in Texas Department of Corrections (TDC) for life or for a term of not more than 99 years nor less than 15 years, and a fine not to exceed $250,000.
  • Possession of Controlled Substances (Drugs). The minimum penalty is confinement in jail for a term of not more than two years or less than 180 days, and a fine not to exceed $10,000. The maximum penalty is confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years nor less than 15 years, and a fine not to exceed $250,000.
  • Delivery of Marijuana. The minimum penalty is confinement in jail for a term of not more than 180 days, a fine not to exceed $2,000, or both. The maximum penalty is imprisonment for life or for a term of not more than 99 nor less than 10 years, and a fine not to exceed $100,000.
  • Possession of Marijuana. The minimum penalty is confinement in jail for a term of not more than 180 days, a fine not to exceed $2,000, or both. The maximum penalty is confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 nor less than five years, and a fine not to exceed $250,000.